Deadpool and Jesus

Comments about how great the movie Deadpool was, have been blowing up my Facebook newsfeed for the past two weeks since it’s release. So I figured I would put in my two cents on it.

If you’re wondering if I’ve seen it, the answer is no, and I won’t. Why? Well, if we’re being honest, I’m sort of a movie buff. So when I saw the reviews, I gotta say I was tempted. However, my worries were piqued when I read the Rotten Tomatoes synopsis.

“Fast, funny, and gleefully profane, the fourth-wall-busting Deadpool subverts superhero film formula with wildly entertaining — and decidedly non-family-friendly — results.”

The words “gleefully profane” and “non-family friendly” had me worried. I’ve read a fair amount of movie reviews on Rotten Tomatoes website, if they’re drawing attention to profanity and raunchy/overly violent non-family fun, then chances are it’s way over the top. Still I wasn’t going to let that stop me. I headed over to Pluggedin.com to check out what they had to say on the movie and… Let’s just say it wasn’t good.

Look, I get it. Not everyone looks into a movie before they go and see them, but that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t. If we call ourselves Christians, would it not be wise to at least consider whether going to a movie such as Deadpool would bring reproach on the name of Christ? After all, isn’t holiness something God demands of his people?

1 Peter 1:16 “For it is written: ‘Be holy, because I am holy.'”

Holiness means to be set apart. Are we really setting ourselves apart as believers when we willingly choose to engage in something that glorifies sin to the extreme?

Scenes of Morena Baccarin and Ryan Reynolds performing mad amounts of fornication to draw a laugh? Is that something we as Christians should really be participating in. I posted an article on Facebook a few weeks ago by Tim Challies on the moral quandary that Christians ignore every time they watch two people simulate sex on the silver screen. Do we not realize that, those “fake” sex acts are happening between at least one married person? (Ryan Reynolds is married to Blake Lively)

It’s not just the mad amounts of sex and skin shown in the movie Deadpool that bothers me. It’s the violence. It is one thing to simulate and portray violence to tell a story but it’s quite another to use violence to entertain. It’s like a soft-core Roman Colosseum. The only thing that keeps it from being socially barbaric is that no one is actually dying. For Christians though, that isn’t the case. I understand the line is gray at times, but with a movie like Deadpool, it’s not. For example: Gladiator is a violent movie, but the violence there is not meant to make the viewer rejoice in it. In the movie Deadpool, you as the viewer are actually being coaxed, coached and encouraged to relish every crazy kill that Wade Wilson performs.

We need to realize that when we partake of movies like Kingsman, John Wick, Deadpool or whatever other overly violent movies that are out there, we straight up dishonor God.

Don’t take my word for it. John Piper is a much more Godly man than I and his ministry, Desiring God, posted a fantastic article about this very issue.

Brothers and sisters, we should not, no matter how tempting, be attending movies, such as Deadpool that glorify the sinfulness of man and diminish the glory of the living God. We need to be set apart. “If it does not proceed from faith, it is sin” (Romans 14:32) and if it does not glorify God, it is also sin. (1 Corinthians 10:31) My hope is that if you have seen the movie you’ll repent and be more diligent when considering your viewing choices next time.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Philippians 4:8

Let’s not let our minds be fixed on worldly and sinful things. By abstaining from movies like Deadpool, I believe we will be better able to carry out the above command that Paul gives in Philippians 4:8.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Deadpool and Jesus

  1. tinamhunt

    Just about entered into a conversation with a believer on this very thing. She was justifying her movie choice by saying, “Sometimes we just need mindless humor.” Not buying it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

